Information About TREC

TREC Staff List:

Principal: Kent Brewer kbrewer@sd73.bc.ca

Vice Principal: Beth Dye bdye@sd73.bc.ca

Secretary: Penny Lamont (Mon - Wed) plamont@sd73.bc.ca

                 Tia Lewis (Thurs - Fri) tlewis@sd73.bc.ca

Secretary: Cheryl Leduc: cleduc@sd73.bc.ca

Counsellor: Kiki Vandermeulen kvandermeulen@sd73.bc.ca

L.A.R.T: Tony Marasco tmarasco@sd73.bc.ca

Bridges Program: Sandip Sadhra ssadhra@sd73.bc.ca

Directed Suspension: Robb Dolson rdolson@sd73.bc.ca

Osprey/Sky: Any Hilton ahilton@sd73.bc.ca

Math/Science: Stephany Dean sdean@sd73.bc.ca

Math/Science: Neil Whitmore nwhitmore@sd73.bc.ca

Art: Catherine Farynuk cfarynuk@sd73.bc.ca

Humanities: Tracy Noble trnoble@sd73.bc.ca

Humanities: Rena Tiessen rtiessen@sd73.bc.ca/ Amy Chow achow@sd73.bc.ca

Certified Education Assistant: Donna Sowden dsowden@sd73.bc.ca

Certified Education Assistant: Debbie Kirshfelt dkirshfelt@sd73.bc.ca

Certified Education Assistant: Leslie Bentley lbentley@sd73.bc.ca

Aboriginal Education Worker: Geri Thomas gthomas@sd73.bc.ca

 

Four Directions Staff List:

Program Coordinator: Jordan Smith jorsmith@sd73.bc.ca

Math/Science: Karla Taylor ktaylor@sd73.bc.ca

Humanities: Jordan Smith jorsmith@sd73.bc.ca

Certified Education Assistant: Robert Arychuk rarychuk@sd73.bc.ca

Aboriginal Education Worker: Sandra Steele ssteele@sd73.bc.ca

 

Street School/KRCC Staff List:

Erika Dabner: edabner@sd73.bc.ca

Pete Grinberg: pgrinberg@sd73.bc.ca

Jason Karpuk: jkarpuk@sd73.bc.ca

Erin Khelouiati: ekhelouiati@sd73.bc.ca

Tonia Gillespie - Outreach Worker

Anna Bartucci-Farias abartucci@sd73.bc.ca, Steno

 

Intake:

  • Once a student has been referred to TREC, and all the necessary documentation is provided by the referring school, TREC’s counselling secretary will call the parent/guardian and set up an intake meeting.  The referring school will remain responsible for academic programming until confirmation of transition is completed by TREC counselling steno.  Until such time, please contact the referring school if you have any questions.
  • All students (with a parent or guardian) must come and meet with Ms. Kiki Vandermeulen to get set up at TREC.   This meeting will take approximately one hour. 
  • All students will start with a partial program.  They can build up their schedule after a month if they have been attending regularly and completing work in class.

Courses offered:

English 9, 10, 11 & 12

Science 9 & 10

Math 9 (Regular)

Planning 10

Work

Experience 12

Communications

11 & 12

Earth

Science 11

Math 9 Essentials

Art 10, 11 & 12

PE 10-12 Booklets Only

Social Studies 9, 10 & 11

Biology 11

Math Foundations 10, 11 & 12

Family Studies 11 & 12

Law 12

BCFN 12

Geography 12

Math A&W 10 & 11

Psychology 11 & 12

Comparative Civilizations 12

All courses are available in course completion (where students work at their own pace).  They can pick up the class from where they left off at their last school. 

Graduation:

If a student stays with us and meets regular graduation requirements, the diploma they receive is the same that they would receive from any other school.  Diplomas are sent out by the Ministry of Education and are the same for all schools.  Students on a regular program have the same requirements for graduation as all other students in the province.  We also have some students on Adult Graduation programs and some on School Completion Certificates. 

Modified Student:

TREC has limited options for modified students.  They attend a half day program with the emphasis on functional academics.  Art is the only elective that we offer students on a modified program.

 


 

 

Twin Rivers Education Centre

Work Habit Definitions

 

Criteria

G

S

N

 

Classroom work

 

Quality of work is consistent with student ability

 

Quality of work is generally consistent with student ability

 

 

Work often shows little care or effort

 

Behaviour

 

 

Consistently models expected classroom  behaviour

 

Generally meets behavioral expectations

 

Often displays inappropriate behaviour

 

Citizenship

 

 

Consistently interacts respectfully with staff, peers and the learning environment

 

 

Generally interacts respectfully with staff, peers and the learning environment

 

Acts disrespectfully to staff, peers or the learning environment

 

 

Last modified: Thursday, 8 September 2016, 2:33 PM